29 Inducted Into Ghana Tennis Hall Of Fame

Spread the love

History was made this afternoon at the Centre Court of the Accra sports stadium when 29 past players and administrators of Ghana Tennis, were inducted into the Tennis Hall of fame.

Under the theme “honoring our heroes”, the program, the first of its kind in the country, honored several key stakeholders of Tennis in the past, who have won several laurels to propel the sport to dizzy heights both locally and internationally.

Speaker after speaker at the short yet colorful ceremony was full of praise for the Ghana Tennis Federation and the Tennis Foundation of Ghana for coming up with this event to honor past heroes and heroines of the sport.

The 29 athletes and administrators included, Ebenezer Odartey Annan, Daniel Amanor, John Ampah, Peter Annan, Joseph Apeletey Atiso, John Atiso, Edmund Annan, Paul Dowouna, Victoria Dowouna, Anthony David Dove, Samuel Lamptey, Samuel Dowuona, Abraham Nortey Owuo, George Gamel, Jonathan Odonkor, Isaac Akwetey Lartey and Tetteh Narh.

Others include Norteysah Dowuona, Naa Kwarley Quartey, Matilda MacBruce Nii Kotey, Mrs. Georgina Abena Amoafi Kingsley Nyinah (Nee Anim-Addo), Mrs. Genevieve Easmon, and George Kwaku Harley.

The rest are Ambassador S.P.O Kumi, G.T Oddoye, Charles Neville Hill, Nicholas Asigbetse, BB Nartey, and Alfred Adams.

Also, Lea Abubakar Yakubu who was presented with the Eddie Annan Special Award for his selfless and courageous leadership.

In attendance was the President of the Ghana Tennis Federation, Isaac Duah and President of Tennis Foundation Ghana, Roger Crawford. Also in attendance was the Director-General of the National Sports Authority Professor Twumasi and Minister for Tourism, Madam Babara Gyasi.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.